Mukuru Awards 2016 pulled participation not only from Mukuru but from other places around Nairobi. In this edition we had a category that pulled participants from Mathare, Kawangware, Kibera, Dandora and Korogocho.

The event had very good reviews both offline and online, this event had the shortest time of putting things in place due to lack of enough funds on time. Despite this challenge the event went on as planned, the community enjoyed, message on disability was very clear with a very moving and strong speech from the Ambassador.

The crew played a very important role in ensuring everything went as planned and at the end of the day we achieved our main objective of showcasing, appreciating and encouraging change makers in the community.

Mukuru Award initially started in August where we started the nomination process, which was open till the voting started on 11 th November till the 1st December.

Social Media – During the voting period we were able to share about our theme which was on ‘Give Me A chance, Disability Isn’t Inability’, where by we mostly used the online platforms mainly facebook and twitter.

Radio shows- Our radio sponsors Ruben FM hosted Our ambassadors who were COG, they shared about the event they and talked about the theme and emphasized on giving a chance to disabled children to be taken to school.

Dennis AKA Katoi one of the members of COG is disabled and despite that he have been able to follow his music dream and he is one of the influential artists in Mukuru and winner of the most Inspirational artist in Mukuru Awards 2014.

Nominees from different categories during the radio interviews also shared about their work and the theme.

Mukuru Awards 2016 Full List of Winners

  1. Male Music artist of the year – Blaxta Gmax
  2. Beyond Mukuru – Cool Brizzy – Mathare
  3. Female music Artist of the year – Princess Purity
  4. Group of the Year – Majeshi Most Educated
  5. Song of the year – Nipe Nafasi by Kajoneto and Dogo Holy
  6. Most Promising Artist of the year – Dogo Holy
  7. Music Video of the year – Hautateseka by Wadadisi Kenya
  8. Actor of the year – Brian Kimani – Ndoto
  9. Actress of the year – Edna Gesare – Complicated
  10. Radio Presenter of the year – D Messy
  11. Music producer of the year – Dunkey – Nice tune
  12. Dance Group of the year – Musa Dancers
  13. Male Footballer Of The Year – Otieno John – MUSA FC
  14. Female Footballer Of The Year – Caroline Otieno
  15. Male Football Coach Of The Year – Robinson Wekesa – MUSA FC
  16. Male Football Team Of The Year – Reuben United FC
  17. Female Football Team Of The Year – Embakasi South Ladies
  18. Acrobats Of The Year – Musa
  19. Youth Organization Of The Year – Arts and Talent Kenya
  20. Organization Of The Year – Wangu Kanja Foundation
  21. Most Impactful Initiatives – Fresh Life by Sanergy
  22. DJ Of The Year – DJ DIfre
  23. Best Film – Tik Tok

Facebook Comments